In this section we will be covering:
When calling 911 here are a few tips and things to expect. Try to remain calm so the dispatcher can understand you. Be prepared to answer a few essential questions (Name, Birthday, Address, Phone Number, and Nature of your call). If you accidentally dialed 911, please remain on the line and advise the dispatcher that you dialed 911 by accident. If you just hang up expect a phone call back from our communication center and a visit from a deputy, to ensure everyone is safe.
How to trespass someone from your property?
Option 1 – The property that you are requesting someone not enter upon can be properly posted. This means posting a sign, giving notice to any person not to trespass upon your property. This method is a blanket trespass and not specific to a specific person. This sign must be posted in a conspicuous place so that the sign can be easily seen by all. If you have a large area of property, multiple signs may be needed.
Option 2 – You may send someone a notice of no trespassing through the mail. This notice must include at a minimum; the date issued, who is being trespassed, the address of the property you are requesting they not trespass upon, that you are requesting them not to enter upon or trespass on this property, and who the no trespass notice is from. To ensure the intended recipient receives this notice and to prove service, this no trespass notice should be mailed certified through the Post Office, signature upon delivery. You should also keep a duplicate copy of the notice sent for your records and keep the certified signature receipt with to no trespass notice.
Eviction is the process by which a landlord obtains possession of the rental property by entering a lawsuit against the tenant(s) and receiving judgment from the court directing the tenant(s) to leave the property and pay back any rent, damage claims and costs of the court process. Following are the steps a landlord must take in the eviction process. Click to download this information as well as sample 14 and 30 Day Notice forms.
Step 1: Notice to Tenant(s)
(Referred to herein as “Tenant” whether singular or plural)
14-day letter (Nonpayment Notice) for money-related issues. This notice is used for failure to pay rent. The landlord gives the tenant written notice that rent must be paid within fourteen days of service date or tenant must vacate the premises. Tenant has 14 days after receipt of notice to respond.
Material Noncompliance Notice for failure to follow the terms of the lease or failure to follow the terms of the Virginia Residential Landlord and Tenant Act (VRLTA). Code of Virginia §§55.1–1200 to 55.1–1262. With this type of notice the landlord gives the tenant written notice to vacate the premises within 30 days of service.
If a landlord requests Sheriff’s Service for Notice to Tenant, the notice must include:
The name of the individual(s) to be served and the address of the rental property. The original notice for return to landlord, plus a copy for each individual being served. Self-addressed, stamped envelope to send back landlord’s proof of service. A $12.00 service fee for each individual being served.
Step 2: Summons for Unlawful Detainer
VA Code § 8.01–126
- If the tenant does not comply with the notice, the landlord brings proof of the notice to the General District Court to obtain a Summons for Unlawful Detainer, which is a civil claim for eviction.
- The court issues a Summons for Unlawful Detainer and assigns a date when the landlord and tenant have an opportunity to appear.
- If the Judge rules in favor of the landlord (Plaintiff), the tenant (Defendant) is granted a 10-day appeal period.
Step 3: Writ of Eviction in Unlawful Detainer Proceedings
VA Code § 8.01–471, 8.01–470, 8.01–472
- After the 10-day appeal period, the plaintiff files a Request for Writ of Eviction in Unlawful Detainer Proceedings with the clerk of the General District Court.
- The court sends the Writ of Eviction for the plaintiff to the Sheriff’s Office.
- The Sheriff’s Office has 30 days from the court’s signing to execute the document. The Sheriff’s Office contacts the plaintiff with the scheduled date and time of the eviction.
- The defendant is given a minimum of 72 hours’ notice prior to the scheduled eviction.
Step 4: Eviction
There are two types of Eviction:
- Full Eviction – The defendant’s property, in its entirety, is placed on the nearest public right of way. The plaintiff must provide a locksmith and enough adults deemed necessary by the Sheriff’s Office to execute the eviction. The Sheriff’s Office is responsible for protecting the interests of both parties. Depending on the particular circumstances, the Sheriff’s Office may require the plaintiff to provide a moving truck, boxes and bags, and/or special equipment. In cases of inclement weather or unforeseen circumstances, the Sheriff’s Office reserves the right to postpone the eviction to the next available date.
- 24-Hour Lock Change Eviction – This is the most commonly used eviction because it is far less costly than a Full Eviction. Possession of the dwelling is granted to the plaintiff within 24 hours after the scheduled eviction date and time. On eviction day, the plaintiff must provide a locksmith to change all of the locks on exterior entrances to the dwelling. The dwelling becomes a storage facility for the defendant’s property for the next 24 hours. The plaintiff must grant the defendant reasonable access to remove his or her property during that 24 hour period. The defendant cannot stay in the dwelling overnight. At the end of the 24 hour period, any property left in the dwelling goes into the possession of the plaintiff who must sell or destroy it. If the defendant remains on the property or returns to the property after the 24 hour period expires, the defendant is trespassing.
For more information about filling fees at the Warren County General District Court please contact them at 540–635-2335.
All eviction information is subject to change. The Warren County Sheriff’s Office will follow the guidelines from local, state, and federal orders. These orders may include but not limited to the President of the United States, Governor of Virginia, and/or any judge (Federal or Virginia). We will also follow the guidance of the Commonwealth Attorney.
HOW DO I HANDLE BEARS?
Have a friendly neighborhood bear problem? We know part of the benefit of living in an environment so close to a nature reserve such as the Shenandoah National Park is the beautiful wildlife, but for both your safety and your furry neighbors, Be Bear Aware!
Don’t feed the bears!
By taking away food sources like trash cans left out or unsecured, bird feeders or even Fido’s dinner, you minimize the appeal for a bear to near your home. Even if it is an inadvertent, feeding of bears that is a violation of code.
Please take a moment to review the Virginia Department of Wildlife Resources (formerly known as Virginia Game Warden or Virginia Game and Inland Fisheries — DGIF) policies and information. You’ll find facts and informational tips on how to deter bears near your home, how to bear-proof your trash containers and the plans and policies for bear management.
HOW DO I OBTAIN A CONCEALED HANDGUN PERMIT?
PROCESS FOR OBTAINING A CONCEALED HANDGUN PERMIT
The applicant must obtain and complete an Application for Concealed Handgun Permit. Applications are located at the Warren County Sheriff’s Office and at the Warren County Circuit Court Clerk’s Office or it can be downloaded here.
The applicant must be at least 21 years of age and provide documentation that he/she has demonstrated competence with a handgun.
Once the application has been completed, the application along with payment to the Warren County Circuit Court may be submitted by mail or in person to the Warren County Circuit Court Clerk’s Office, 1 E. Main Street, Front Royal, VA 22630. If you have any questions please direct them to the Warren County Circuit Court Clerk’s Office, (540) 635‑4107.
A background check will then be performed by the Warren County Sheriff’s Office and information obtained from the background check is forwarded to the Warren County Circuit Court Clerk’s Office.
The application will then be reviewed by the Circuit Court Judge. The Judge will make a decision to approve or deny the permit.
Once the process has been completed, the applicant will be contacted by the Warren County Circuit Court Clerk’s Office. For more information visit the Virginia State Police website.
HOW DO I OBTAIN A PROTECTIVE ORDER?
What is a Protective Order?
It is a legal order issued by a magistrate or the judge to protect one person from physical abuse or threatening behavior by another. A protective order is issued in cases of domestic violence and stalking to protect the health and safety of an abused person and his/her family or household members.
Protective Orders are Free
There is no charge for petitioning for a protective order, filing copies of a protective order, or having the order served on the abuser.
Do I Need Legal Representation for a Protective Order?
No. You do not need an attorney to file for a protective order. However, there are often free legal services available for low income victims who would like to obtain a protective order. Many area domestic violence service agencies have free attorneys and victim advocates available for victims who would like a Protective Order. Local Legal Aid offices also assist victims in obtaining protective orders. All local Juvenile and Domestic Relations District Courts have court services units to assist victims in obtaining protective orders. To find out more about the services available in your area, please call the toll free Statewide Domestic Violence Hotline at 1–800-838‑8238.
Do I Have to Press Charges to Get a Protective Order?
No. A protective order is a civil order, and is not the same as pressing criminal charges. You may press criminal charges against the abuser, in addition to petitioning for a family abuse protective order, but you do not have to press charges in order to get a protective order.
How Do I Get a Protective Order?
Contact the Warren County Sheriff’s Office at (540) 635‑4128. More detailed information can be found in the pamplet below.
HOW DO I OBTAIN AN EMPLOYMENT APPLICATION?
To apply to the Warren County Sheriff’s Office, please complete and notarize our Employment Application Packet and return
Warren County Sheriff’s Office
200 Skyline Vista Drive
Front Royal, VA 22630
Email completed and notarized application packet to the Warren County Sheriff’s Office.
Employment packets can also be obtained in person at the Warren County Sheriff’s Office and the Warren County Government Center.
To view a list of current open positions visit the Warren County Government Employment Opportunities page.
FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA) / CRASH REPORTS
Warren County Sheriff’s Office FOIA Request Packet
can be downloaded and returned to the Warren County Sheriff’s Office.
For more information visit the Code of Virginia Freedom of Information Act Rights or contact our FOIA Officer, at 540–635-7243.
Public Comment Form
If you need an accident report from an automotive crash, please go to http://www.crashdocs.org/ to get your report. You will need to know the accident date, report number and the last name of the driver to obtain a report.
A crash report should be available on CrashDocs.org, 5–7 days after a traffic crash. If your traffic crash was prior to October 1, 2021, you will need to contact the records department at 540–635‑2074 or stop by the sheriff’s office to request the record in person. If the crash was after October 1, 2021, and you have waited 14 days after the crash and you still are unable to obtain your crash report on CrashDocs.org please contact our office at 540–635‑2074.
EMPLOYER REQUIRED FINGERPRINTING
My employer informed me that I need to have my fingerprints taken for my new job. Can you assist me with that?
Answer: Applicant fingerprints are taken at the Warren County Court Holding facility located at 8 E. Jackson St., Front Royal, VA. 22630. Scheduled days and times for applicant fingerprinting are:
Wednesday 12:30 pm — 3:30 pm
Thursday 9:00 am — 12:00 pm
The Warren County Sheriff’s Office charges a fee of $10.00 for application fingerprinting.
*This fee will not apply to any current Warren County employee or any perspective applicant going through the Warren County hiring process.
BURN LAWS AND INFORMATION
Spring Wildfire Season begins February 15th each year and continues through April 30th.
As a safety precaution, open air burning is restricted to only the hours of 4pm-12 midnight. Once wildfire season concludes, open air burning is no longer restricted and you may burn at any time (unless otherwise posted). For more information on what you are allowed to burn, please visit http://www.dof.virginia.gov/
Please contact the Warren County Sheriff’s Office 24hrs a day prior to starting your burn and with any further questions.
HAVE I BEEN SCAMMED?
If you receive a call and do not provide any information you may report that to the Sheriff’s Office but as long as you don’t give any personal information it is not a violation of law. We still ask that you call it in so we can tell the public. If you do give information about yourself or financial information please report that so it can be investigated.
The Sheriff’s Office does not interpret civil documents we can keep the peace during exchanges if needed but do not decide what parent a child will go with.
WHAT IS A THREAT?
Here is a link to the Code of Virginia on the definition of a threat against a person and the requirements to break that law. Link